Cranberry – Orange Oatmeal Cookies!

This cookie recipe is totally vegan, sugar free, wheat free, baking soda free, baking powder free, and yet still a tasty cookie.  They are also a decent source of Omega 3’s. You could eat this for breakfast as it’s not far removed from a bowl of oatmeal. This truly is a healthy cookie that you can eat without guilt, and your family can as well. Make a whole oven full because they won’t last. Everyone who I had try them thought they were very good.  My mom claims this is her favorite recipe I have made so far on this website. I don’t think I would go that far, but they are tasty. I will warn you though, I didn’t measure anything… I will do my best to list approximate amounts below but you may need to experiment to get it just right. I will measure next time I make these.

Prep time: To make the dough is only a few minutes, baking however I haven’t quite mastered. I did 350 degrees for probably half an hour… I will be playing with this recipe and trying to obtain a fluffier cookie.  I will update this post with what I discover. Feel free to offer helpful tips below. I am not a great baker by any means, but the flavor I have pretty good according to my sources.

Made 24 cookies.

Ingredients:

3 – 4 cups Old Fashioned Rolled Oats, half of them blended to a course flour, not sure this was necessary.

1/4 Coconut oil

4 tbl Chia Seeds soaked in a cup of water

3 Bananas, mashed

1 C. Walnuts (Optional) I didn’t add these but had several people suggest this and I think it would go well.

1 – 1 1/2 C. Dried Cranberries (I tried to find unsweetened however was unable. I did find some sweetened with apple juice though and those are the ones I used. You can always use sweetened or even substitute some other fruit).

7-8 Medjool dates, chopped

Orange juice squeezed from one navel orange.

2 oz sliced Almonds

Orange zest from one orange

1 tbl of Cinnamon

1 tsp Vanilla extract

Water, just enough to form a soft dough.

Combine all ingredients and add in just enough water to create a cookie dough consistency but not to much or the cookies will be wet and dense and take to long to cook. That may be in part what I did wrong. Also I will try not blending any flour and see if that makes a difference. I will post updates. Spoon mix onto baking sheet the size and depth you want your cookies to be as they will not raise or spread because there is no baking soda. I wanted to create a cookie with no baking soda as I am unsure of it’s health properties and as a challenge to myself.

KODAK Digital Still Camera
We were so eager we didn’t take many pictures. I regret that now as this is the only one we have of mixing the dough. Next time I will take more. I added more oats to improve the texture.
KODAK Digital Still Camera
After they came out of the oven and cooled. Heating instructions are above on the top of the page. They were so tasty.
Leave a Reply

